Postcards from Falmouth: the East End Meeting House

Built in 1797 as a Congregational church, the East End Meeting house has seen its fortunes grow and shrink over the years: from a generous bequest in 1842, to a decline in membership in the 1970s, to an unusual transfer in ownership in the early 1980s.

In this oral history, Rabbi Elias Lieberman walks us through that history to the current day, where the meetinghouse stands as the home of the Falmouth Jewish Congregation. Learn about the building’s origins and quirks, and about how the Falmouth Jewish Congregation updated, expanded, and made it their own.



Check out our East End Meeting House digital exhibit here.

Explore the postcard collection online here.

Postcards from Falmouth is a local history project of Falmouth Public Library, funded by a LSTA grant and administered by the MBLC.