Virtual Mystery Book Group

This group is a permanently virtual book group focusing on all kinds of mysteries. We will explore a new Theme for 3 months in a row at 3 times during the year.

It meets 9 times a year by Zoom on a Wednesday from 4:30-5:30 during the months of January-March, May-July and September-November.

You can join for one session, all sessions or any time a book or theme interests you. Register in the library’s Event calendar to have a Zoom Link will be sent to you before the meeting.  Please send questions and theme or book suggestions to Jennifer Woodward , Facilitator. 

Next Theme : Short Stories

Meeting on June 8, 2022 Sleep No More: six murderous tales by P.D. James. An anthology of six previously uncollected stories explores the memories, emotional machinations, rationalizations, and desires of people who get away with the perfect murder. Please read all six stories.

All versions in CLAMS

Meeting on July 8, 2022 Cape Cod Noir edited by Davin L Ulin. Youthful alienation and despair dominate these 13 stories. Please read the following stories:

  • “Ten-Year Plan” by William Hastings set in Falmouth
  • “Second Chance” by Elyssa East set in Buzzards Bay
  • “Variations on a Fifty-Pound Bale” by Adam Mansbach set in Martha’s Vineyard

Print or eBook in CLAMS

UPCOMING THEME Cozy Mysteries Books that include the components of classic mystery —suspense, misdirection, intrigue, and some degree of criminality—while forgoing violence and profanity.

Meeting on September 14, 2022 Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie. Miss Marple’s first mystery in what is considered the first cozy mystery series! All versions in CLAMS

Meeting on October 12, 2022 Murder on Cape Cod by Maddie Day. First in the Cozy Capers Book Club Mystery series set on the fictitious Cape Cod town of Westham, which is clearly based on Falmouth. All versions in CLAMS

Meeting on November 9, 2022 The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman. In a peaceful retirement village, four unlikely friends meet weekly in the Jigsaw Room to discuss unsolved crimes; together they call themselves The Thursday Murder Club. This widely popular book is written by a well-known UK entertainer and in 2021 was the fastest-selling crime debut of all time. All versions in CLAMS