E-Newsletter

Catalog Search

A Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol, a beloved holiday classic by Charles Dickens, follows the transformation of the miserly Ebenezer Scrooge, who is visited by the ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Future and reminds him of what the true meaning of Christmas is all about.

In Charles Dickens A to Z: the Essential Reference to his Life and Work, author Paul B. Davis writes:
“No writer has been more identified with Christmas than Dickens. Largely on the basis of the Carol and the other Christmas Books,* Dickens has been variously described as ‘Father Christmas’ and the ‘inventor’ of Christmas; he deserves some credit helping to rescue the holiday from dour Calvinists, many of whom condemned the traditional Christmas celebrations as pagan rites.

Although Dickens was motivated by the economic controversies of the time to write the Carol, the book was taken as an affirmation of Christmas rather than a controversial tract. The best known of all Dickens’s works, it has become the modern classic of Christmas literature.”

*What other Christmas Books, you may ask?

Dickens gave this title to the five stories he had written for Christmas between 1843 and 1848:
A Christmas Carol (1843)
The Chimes (1844)
The Cricket on the Hearth (1845)
The Battle of Life (1846)
The Haunted Man (1848)

Also, a MUST read for fans of Dickens and Christmas:

The Man Who Invented Christmas: how Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol rescued his career and revived our holiday spirits by Les Standiford.

Look in the library’s collection for these works entitled (or adapted from) A Christmas Carol:
Books

The Annotated Christmas Carol: a Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens; illustrated by John Leech ; introduction, notes, & bibliography by Michael Patrick Hearn. 

The Delaney Christmas Carol by Kay Hooper, Iris Johansen, Fayrene Preston.

A Family Christmas – Holiday stories selected and introduced by Caroline Kennedy; illustrated by Jon J. Muth and Laura Hartman Maestro.

Sound Recordings

Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol- read by his great-granddaughter, Monica Dickens, on CD.

Charles Dickens Christmas Set - a set of 4 sound discs with Jerry Robbins and The Colonial Radio Players. Includes: The Chimes, A Christmas Carol, The Cricket on the Hearth, and The Seven Poor Travellers.

A Christmas Carol read by Patrick Stewart on 2 sound cassettes.

Movies

A Christmas Carol
Starring Alistair Sim, Jack Warner, Patrick MacNee -Black and white version originally released as a motion picture in 1951.

Barbie in a Christmas Carol

Barbie stars as a diva of a Victorian London theater who plans on making everyone stay for rehearsal on Christmas Day, but a visit from three spirits changes her heart.

Scrooge
Starring Albert Finney, Dame Edith Evans & Sir Alec Guinness.

Scrooged

Modern version of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, with Bill Murray portraying a nasty, uncaring, unforgiving TV network president.
Starring Bill Murray, Karen Allen, & John Forsythe.

Category: | Permalink

Comments

This post has no comments.

Leave a Comment

Name:

Email: (required but will never be displayed)

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below: